Content Highlight

Content Highlight

Bengali, Burmese and Nepali

Bengali and Nepali are Indo-Iranian language in Indo-European family. The former is the official language of Bangladesh, the Indian states West Bengal and Tripura. Bengali is also the second most spoken language in India. Nepali is the official language of Nepal and also spoken in the neighboring parts of India.

Burmese language, also called Myanmar, belongs to the Tibeto-Burman group of the Sino-Tibetan language family. It is the official language of Myanmar (Burma). The language has its alphabet of 10 vowels and 32 consonants derived from the South Indian script and also included loan words from other languages.

Interested users could go to the Language Learning Centre of the Hong Kong Central Library to find out more about Bengali, Burmese and Nepali.


To explore more by