Content Highlight

Content Highlight

African languages

In Africa, there are over 1,000 languages that are spoken by Africans. Most languages belong to the Afroasiatic or Niger-Congo languages family.

Afroasiatic languages cover Northern Africa, Central Sahara and the Horn of Africa. Aside from Arabic, Swahili also known as Kiswahili is one of the common languages used in Africa. It is the official language of Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda and also as the national language of the Democratic Republic of Congo. Amharic and Somali are spoken in Ethiopia.

Niger-Congo languages dominate Central, Southern and Eastern Africa. Yoruba is mainly spoken in West Africa, such as Nigeria, Benin and Togo. In South Africa, Zulu is the mother-tongue language of most South Africans followed by Xhosa, Afrikaans and English, and all are the official languages of South Africa.

Interested users could go to the Language Learning Centre of the Hong Kong Central Library to find out more about African languages.


To explore more by